old dog learns new tricks

Yeah, I debated calling myself an old dog, but what the heck.

I am no stranger to the Next Big Thing.

Bloggerisms, Twitterings, Tumblrasms, Pinterests, Facebookery…I even did the Google+ thing until I could bear it no longer.

And I live and breathe iPhone Apps.

But oh, Lord, I did not look forward to learning yet another newsletter platform.

I rifled through my records and discovered I took over the Kansas SCBWI Sunflower Scoop newsletter in January of 2008! Holy krap. Hold on a minute.

Okay. That’s better.

At that time, it was published when the editor had run across enough information to make a newsletter. After I’d put out a few issues, I decided to make it weekly.

And make it funny. More or less.

It took years to gather a database I could depend on, and occasionally surprise bits of information popped up in a Tweet or blog post.

Independent of any input, the Kansas SCBWI leaders decided to discontinue the Sunflower Scoop. Until then, I’d had no intention of publishing a newsletter on my own. If you look at my about your hostess and the tricks up her sleeve page, you will see I’m plenty busy.

But many peeps had told me how much they depended on The Sunflower Scoop. In fact, some even told me they quit subscriptions to paid newsletters because the Scoop was better. Or the reason they ponied up for SCBWI membership was so they could get the Scoop.

Well, what a gyp for them.

Some people have even suggested I charge for the KidLit Scoop.

I’m not gonna do that.

Next week we’re getting this show on the road: first issue of The KidLit Scoop, which comes out every Sunday night. Sometimes very, very late on Sunday night, making it more accurately very early Monday morning. It has a slant toward the Kansas City area and the Kansas SCBWI members but 95% of the info in the newsletter is useful to any kidlit writer. If you want to sign up, well, cast your eye toward the sidebar.

Thanks for all the support, you darling people.

photo grand canyon nps
About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on November 12, 2012, in kidlit scoop and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. THANKS Lisha! Looking forward to the new Kidlit Scoop!!

  2. Ditto what Cindi said. XXOO

  1. Pingback: Ink & Angst» Ink Rally 2012: wk 2: watch us fly

