out of the loop

I have been home all week.

Usually I meet with my writerly buddies at the Sekrit Writing Location, but this week it just wasn’t possible.

I also usually attend my weekly morning critique group, but I had to skip that.

And then there’s the monthly evening critique group, but it’s not time yet.

Sometimes I go out with a friend for dinner. But that didn’t happen this week.

I’ve been home caretaking, doing errands and writing. In complete and utter isolation.

DON’T DO THAT.

I feel like I did when I was stuck home with toddlers. I MEAN EXPERIENCING THE JOYS OF YOUNG MOTHERHOOD.

Find someone to do something creative with, even if it’s not writing–see a play, take an art class, join a book club.

Find things to drive your creativity engine.

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on September 10, 2011, in mind and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Yeah, meeting with other people can be important. I feel like I know a bit of what you’re talking about, though I wasn’t stuck at home all week, I was going to work and running errands afterwards. But it was good to get into Toronto yesterday and meet up with friends at the screening!

  2. Peeps need peeps…and balance. Finding the sweet spot between too much time alone and not enough is tricky business. 🙂
    ~~Judy H.

  3. Oh, man. Those words in caps lock really, really say it all to me. That’s an experience I hope never to have again . . . and that you’re done with it (with or sans kids), too!

  4. Bottled Lightning

    I miss the days you were EXPERIENCING THE JOYS OF YOUNG MOTHERHOOD

  5. I do miss my babies. Mostly because I could tell them what to do.

