report: scbwi-la-2011

How to boil it all down to one blog post?

I tried to do everything. EVERYTHING.

I went to every keynote, breakout and workshop.

The problem? Didn’t schmooze nearly enough.

I did find myself in a quiet moment before the first keynote, and introduced myself to the shy little lady sitting next to me. We chatted–and I found out it was ANNE ANGEL–who wrote:

She won the 2011 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults. FUDGE YEAH! She was wonderful.

And I met the lovely and powerful CHERI WILLIAMS in the flesh!

I am telling you, I am buying an island where we can all live together.

Then below: Cheri, Cindy Pon of  Silver Phoenix fame, and Ellen Oh author of the YA trilogy, The Dragon King Chronicles

Tell me, one of these things is not like the others. Perhaps, MIKE JUNG?

I met Debbi Ohi and Lee Wind and Greg Pincus and oh, all SORTS of people, but didn’t really have a chance to TALK to them. There was always another thing to run to, or I was just exhausted.

Next time, I am taking the Red Bull.

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on August 15, 2011, in scbwi la 2011 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Lovely and powerful? Are you still sleep deprived?!

    Meeting you was an absolute highlight, Lisha. I will cherish my whoopie cushion forever–and instigate many shenanigans in your name. 🙂

    Let me know when escrow closes on that island!!

  2. Looking forward to more details. 🙂

  3. SCBWI-LA 2011 was lucky to have you, Lisha. They will all be jealous of all us Kansas SCBWIers when they find out we get you ALL THE TIME. Yeah!

  4. Oh, Cheri, not enough time. My stamina was definitely lacking.
    Judy, I will post more. and of course give you sekrits in person.
    Heather, you are nuts. As usual. BUT IN A GOOD WAY.

  5. It makes me sooo jealous. I am going to the regional Kansas SCBWI con and can’t wait.

  6. It’s easier to get to the bigwigs, Heather. And hey, I’ll be there. WHAT MORE COULD YOU POSSIBLY WANT???

  7. It was great to meet you, Lisha but I know what you mean. I didn’t meet a lot of the people I’d hoped to or when I did the chat was so quick as we dashed off to the next thing. Welp, we were freshmen this time– we’ll get the schmoozing down next time!

  8. You too, Dana. Next time, schmoozing will be a priority!

