websiting for the pre-published

Well. I’ve tipped over into the camp of those who have a website before they’re published:

http://www.lishacauthen.com

Why? Because I know who my audience is and I want to build up cred on the internet–something to look at when I  finally have readers to come look at it.

It’s also something for editors and agents to stumble across when they Google my name, in addition to this blog and my sassy-ass Twitterings.

Since I am pre-published, I didn’t feel like I could spend money on a website. And I know NOTHING about html, so I built my little site on weebly.com for free. They employ a drag-and-drop web building method. No, you can’t do fancy-schmancy stuff, but with a little imagination you can have a decent beta website.

I bought my domain name at godaddy.com and pointed it at my weebly site using the directions I found on weebly.com. EASY PEASY.

You don’t own your domain name? BUY IT.

Don’t feel like you need a website? STILL BUY YOUR DOMAIN NAME BEFORE SOMEBODY ELSE DOES.

You’re a writer! Invest in owning your own name!

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on July 19, 2011, in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Your new website looks good!

  2. What Sue said. 🙂
    I read your Twitter tweet yesterday that the site was up/out/available for public consumption…so I went and consumed! Congrats! High five! 😀

  3. Thank you ladies. Lots of fits and starts, there.

  4. Your personality shines through, Lisha! Nice job! Read your first chapter….whoa. Tons of conflict and tension. I want to read more.

  5. Thanks, Vivian. I wouldn’t say that side of my personality “shines”, though. Maybe glows eerily?

  6. If I had to guess, I would bet you’re as colorful as those cars. I can’t wait to meet you at the KSCBWI con in Sept/Oct.
    My hubby bought my domain name years ago when I finished my first novel. I laughed at him, never thinking I would actually publish. Now I’m so glad he did.

  7. Well, my hair is that colorful, anyway. See you in a few weeks!

