scbwi-la-2011: the business card

Another post in the GETTING READY FOR SCBWI-LA-2011 series…

THE BUSINESS CARD

I plan to meet the hell out of all of you at the conference.

I want to be able to place your names with your faces, and I sure want my name placed with my face. (I think.)

Yes, yes–I have made the decision that I want my name and face to go together.

So I made the monumental decision to put my picture on the back of my business cards. (OH ICK.)

Now, you realize that this is coming from someone who puts up avatars of cartoon characters and dogs on Twitter.

But it is a terrible necessity, and I hope everybody going to SCBWI-LA-2011 is switching to their ACTUAL REAL FACE

on Twitter and their blog, etc. so we can RECOGNIZE THEM.

End of rant.

Now.

ON YOUR BUSINESS CARD:

  • Name (If you can’t get this far, reconsider whether or not you are a writer.)
  • the genre you write
  • any actual job you have pertaining to writing (Remember–this is just for your writing career.)
  • writers’ groups you belong to–LIKE SCBWI
  • twitter handle
  • blog
  • website
  • MOST PROMINENTLY–YOUR CONTACT INFO: PHONE NUMBER AND EMAIL

Agents/editors really only want ONE CONTACT PHONE NUMBER and ONE CONTACT EMAIL.

Make sure the phone number is one that you can really be reached at. Not one that will give the contacter the run-around.

And newbies, here is a fact that my dear, sweet friend Elizabeth Bunce gently told me some years ago: Have a professional email address. Your name dot gmail. Anything else SCREAMS amateur.

You do not need your snail mail address. Your social security number. Your date of birth. Your blood pressure.

I use www.vistaprint.com. They have a lot of templates. A. Lot. Or you can upload your own. You can be as plain or fancy as you like, use one side or both. But be careful to not overcrowd your business card. Make sure it’s readable–the type is large enough and contrasts well with the background colors. Also, use pixie dust.

Oh, by the way. Some people have been asking me: why the blue hair?

Are you kidding?

I hate pink.

What about you guys? You got any tips about business cards I have missed? So I can shake my tiny fists in frustration?

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on June 27, 2011, in scbwi la 2011 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

