drama, characters, jersey shore…with gifs!

Oh, I am going to admit a dirty little secret. Ready?

Freckles McYoungest and I have been watching old seasons of The Jersey Shore.

*Ptui!*

Man. I felt filthy just typing that.

It started when we were with Bottled Lightning, and she kind of sort of FORCED US to watch an episode or two. Holy Cannoli. The DRAMA. I couldn’t. Stand it.

We came home to the land of Antenna TV where I guess Freckles watched the rest of the episodes on Hulu or Netflix or something.

I must admit that now–I am fascinated. I honestly have never known people like this. Well, I might have run across them, but I didn’t stick around to see what made them tick.

Now, a couple of episodes into the Miami Season of The Jersey Shore, it’s easy to see who is a kid sowing wild oats:

and who is a frickin’ sociopath.

Favorite quote of the day:

“You stepped on the only toes you had in the house.”

The Situation to Angelina

If you haven’t seen this amazing slice of Americana, let me explain. Approximately half-a-dozen twenty-somethings hang out in a house for a couple of months near the beach and party. Oh yeah. Occasionally they go to a minimum-wage job. Mostly they get drunk and have Drama. (Please note the capital “D”.)

OH BUT LISHA. HOW CAN YOU MAKE FUN OF THESE PEOPLE MAKING DRAMA WHEN YOU WRITE YA AND CHAMPION TEEN DRAMA AND NEVER, EVER MAKE FUN OF IT? EVER.

Thank you for asking.

Teens aren’t manufacturing their drama. There stuff really IS as big as they’re feeling it. First love. Choosing and getting into the right college. Losing your best friend. Standing up to peer pressure. Enlisting in the army. Deciding what to believe in, independent of your parents. Yeah. That’s big.

These guys on the Jersey Shore? They’re stirring up trouble, just so they can feel alive.

So there you have it, writers–the difference between flat characters and ones you can build a story on. You can’t put my characters’ day into a few gifs.

AND THEY NEVER EVEN ACTUALLY GO TO THE BEACH!!!

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on June 18, 2011, in writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,120 other followers

