luckier

If you follow me on Twitter, you know I am in love with my new old car. Because I have stated that fact approximately 1,347 times.

It’s a 9-year-old manual transmission with non-electric locks and windows.  And I guarantee that I love and appreciate that car more than a whole lot of people who have brand new BMWs or Lexuses.

That doesn’t make me better than those people, it makes me luckier. Because I know exactly what I want, and I got it.

Now read about  Dallas Wiens, the first full face transplant patient in the United States. **WARNING. GRAPHIC PICTURE**  I’ll give you the “after” picture here:

He had his face burned off in an electrical accident. The pain has been horrific. What kept him alive? His daughter.

What made him go through with the transplant? The thought of feeling his daughter’s kisses on his face.

It doesn’t look like his old one. Isn’t fully functioning yet, but it’s a human face.

And when his daughter saw him she said, “Daddy, you’re so handsome.”

Could he get any luckier?

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on May 9, 2011, in life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thank you for this beautiful reminder, which I must now share.

  2. Stop making me cry.

  3. Wow. Counting blessings here…

  4. lishacauthen

    I know guys, I know.

  1. Pingback: An assortment of blogging awards « The Monster in Your Closet

