zomygod it’s over

So I did it. Blogged every day for a full month.

Pretty much.

What did I learn?

  1. I can really whip out some make-do stuff when necessary. Just like in high school.
  2. Blogging at night suits me better–want to save my best brain cells for my WIP.
  3. Challenges are fun.
  4. My choicest blog posts happen when I’m fired up about something.
  5. My blog traffic did indeed go up when I posted every day.
  6. I can’t commit to posting every day.

The truth is, I’ve got a life to live, people!

But: compromise.

In May, I will post on Monday, Wednesday and Friday every week.

Let’s see how that puppy will fly.

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on April 30, 2011, in blogging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. “Blogging at night suits me better–want to save my best brain cells for my WIP.”
    I’m trying to get into the habit of doing this. I seem to be exhausting all my words on morning blog entries, so that I open up my WIP doc and end up just staring at it. (Good thing it’s not sentient, or I’d be in for lectures! 🙂

    “My choicest blog posts happen when I’m fired up about something.”
    I was thinking about this on Friday. I’m trying to write an entry I feel is interesting intellectually, but it’s not really engaging my heart. No matter how much I retool it, I just can’t get it to the level of the posts I really feel, be they funny or be they sad.

  2. lishacauthen

    It really did help to blog for a solid month to figure these things out quickly, didn’t it, Deborah?

    The first thing the writer has to do is produce the book. Anything else is secondary. So, blog? As much fun as it is to search around for Trolls-on-a-Train gifs, you have to take a back seat.

    Aw, but I still heart you.

  3. Well, I, for one, have enjoyed the month of daily posts–from the sublime to the ridiculous (love the trolls). However, I can easily see how daily blogging would interfere with WIPs and all other daily activities. If I can’t have daily posts, I’ll enjoy thrice-weekly ones instead. 🙂

  4. lishacauthen

    Thanks, Judy. I love having a groupie. <3.

  5. Your gif-searching comment made me giggle. In other news, I actually stuck to the write-first, blog-later plan this morning! Now if I can just repeat another 30-40 days, I’ll be right on track . . .

  6. lishacauthen

    One step at a time, Deborah…

  7. When I was an middle school administrator, I could have written ten blogs a day (well, I wouldn’t have actually had the time, but I sure would have had the subject matter!). Now that I’m retired, I’m finding it difficult to think of topics that people might be interested in reading. Don’t want to got back to middle school, though! Enjoyed your post and am looking forward to reading more.

  8. lishacauthen

    Thanks, Coming. (Um, that didn’t sound good.) Oh, just keep living your life and reading the papers. That will give you plenty of things to rant about, I’m sure!

