verbs, strong like ox

The best way to get rid of a lot of extraneous adverbs and adjectives:

USE STRONG VERBS.

I believe in strong verbs so much I painted them all around my front porch.

One slightly-unusual verb can conjure an entire scene:

Theodosia greedily ate the entire plate of food.

OR

Theodosia snarfed the anti-pasto.


Fabio walked slowly down the hall, like he hadn’t a care in the world.

OR

Fabio sauntered down the hall.

The boy’s mother pushed him into studying proctology against his will.

OR

The boy’s mother steamrolled him into studying proctology.

Yeah. THERE’S  a word picture.


About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on April 26, 2011, in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Cheri fuh-reaked at the awe-inspiringness of Lisha’s porch!

  2. Thanks, Cheri. It’s a porch only a writer can love. You should see the looks I get from the great unwashed public. One visitor asked, “Did the house come like this?”

    I don’t even know what that was supposed to mean.

  3. For years, I have *intended* to paint quotes on my sunroom’s walls…am inspired to revisit the idea. 🙂

  4. Thanks, Sarah.

    Judy, DO IT.

