unbelievable

It’s 10:30 on Monday night, and Freckles McYoungest and I are watching The Little Mermaid in Spanish.

That’s right.

Spanish.

It’s a fun way to brush up on her language skills before her trip this summer, to Costa Rica. She’s going with the Amigos de las Americas program, and she’ll be gone almost two months.

None of my kids have been afraid to leave the ol’ homestead. They’ve gone far away to college. They’ve traveled. Heck, they went to sleep-away camp as soon as they could.

Sounds like their home was a real hell-hole, doesn’t it?

BoyWonder drove to Gettysburg by himself when he was 19 to take part in a Civil War reenactment.

Among other trips, Bottled Lightning went to India when she was 21 with her college group, and to Switzerland by herself.

But Freckles is going to be settled in a small village where no one speaks English. She’ll live with a host family and work with the community on a project. She has to take malaria pills. And fit in. She’s 17 years old.

I said she could go.

Unbelievable.

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on April 25, 2011, in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Laura Manivong

    You have prepared them well, Mother Hen.

  2. I clicked this entry because the name “Freckles McYoungest” tickled me. I’m glad for that, too, because the possibility represented in this short entry is limitless.

    My son is only 18 months old now, but I hope someday I’ll write an entry like this.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. The fact that you want to write an entry like this, means you will, Deborah. AREN’T WE NUTS????

    Laura…looks who’s calling who a fowl.

  4. Have your kids told you lately how AWESOME you are?

    I heart you.

  5. I admire, and am amazed by, folks, young and old, who have the guts to travel alone. I admit it, I still wouldn’t be comfortable doing that, even at my age (which is, ahem, decades older than your three). High fives all around! 🙂

  6. If that’s nuts, I’ll have nuts with a side of more nuts, followed by a dessert of nuts! 😀

