fortune cookies book launch party

I know you’re beginning to think we don’t do anything around here but launch books.

YOU MIGHT BE RIGHT.

Case in point: Fortune Cookies, by A Bitterman (Pete Cowdin), Illustrated by Chris Raschka.

How many authors do you know run the register at their own book party?

So I run into Judy Hyde, Fearless Leader of Wednesday Morning Critique Group who I would Follow Anywhere–which you can see I do right here–and Anola Pickett. Who has a book coming out soon.

Chris Raschka, as I’m sure you know, is a Caldecott winner. He and Pete gave an illustrated reading of Fortune Cookies. Here’s a little taste:

Then it was time to sign books. So we lined up uncooperatively with Laura Manivong and drove Mrs. Bitterman (Debbie) insane.

FINALLY it was my turn, and I got the true scoop on how illustrator and author got together.

What was interesting about this book bash was the participants. Most book launches are attended by a small circle of writers, but Pete’s crowd was overwhelmingly composed of Reading Reptile customers.

EVERYTHING’S different when Pete Cowdin’s involved.

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on March 21, 2011, in childrens' literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It was a terrific book launch! Sending a high five and congrats to A Bitterman for both FORTUNE COOKIES and Reading Reptile! 🙂

  2. Yeah, Judy! And Chris Raschka too!

  3. What a fun experience!! I love author signings they’re so enlightening and inspiring!!!

    I’m co-host of the A-Z blogging challenge and wanted to stop in and say hello! You have a very fun blog! Should you have any questions just stop in and let us know!! I hope you stop by my blog to say hello! We are also having fun on twitter (you can find the link only blog)!

  4. Thanks, Jen. It’s going to be a challenge, that’s for sure.

