edward edward bo bedward, banananana no nedward…

I’ve started a new manuscript.

Yeah.

I’ve got a premise and two chapters under my belt, but I still don’t have the main character’s name.

For me, this is a HUGE problem.

I don’t feel like I know my character until I have his name. I am adrift. Suspended. Confused. Gobsmacked.

He won’t have a face until I know his name.

I’ve combed through books. Traveled the internet. Meditated. Slept on it. Gotten WAY TOO MANY suggestions.

PLEASE. NO SUGGESTIONS.

Given a few names some trial runs at critique groups.

I got nothin’.

The main characters in my other novels happened pretty easily. When I came across them in my baby name book, they leapt off the page. I just knew, like when you find the right puppy at the pound, or the right used car. But this time–this time, I am stumped.

Maybe he doesn’t NEED  a name. How about I try something avant-garde, like, refer to the main character as “the boy” and leave it at that?

COME ON! IT’LL WORK!

I guess it’s time to pull out the baby name book and start over. Aaron, Abraham…

Because I am NOT ending up with a name like Edward Cullen.

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on October 15, 2010, in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Maybe you need to look at the more obscure variations of names in the baby book. Or you need a different baby book!

  2. I love the way you write. The words seem to rollllll off your fingertips. I know better, but I’m gonna say it anyway – you make it look easy!

  3. Oh, Sue. You are so practical.

    I will never understand you.

    And Cindi–easy? EASY?

    Gee, thanks.

  4. Percival…Rupert…Jock…Trey…Tom…Dick…Harry….just trying to be helpful here….

  5. Oh, you’re helpful Judy. When you’re reading, you supply a different name every time!

  6. …Cole…

  7. As you may remember, that is already a MINOR CHARACTER.

    I do thank you for playing along.

  8. Oops! My bad. Yep, I had forgotten that. (but…good name choice!) 🙂

