as close as your phone

Last night I get a text from Bottled Lightning:

mom i have the sleepieeeeez but im in class 😦

She’s 21, in college about a thousand miles from here. But if she’s bored, she can get in touch with her mommy anytime, anywhere.

I THINK THIS IS WEIRD.

When I went to college, all of 90 miles away, I did not communicate with my parents until Christmas. My mother even sent me a letter once with a pre-stamped postcard that asked me to “check here if you’re alive”.

Okay, maybe I carried it a little too far.

However, if I got in a scrape, I had to figure my way out of it. Now our kids can call their parents to tell them what to do. Unfortunately for my Unholy Trio, I often won’t.

One of my proudest moments as a mother was when Freckles McYoungest had some sort of conundrum, (I don’t even remember what it was), and I told her I wasn’t going to figure things out for her. She sighed and said, “I know. You’re going to talk me through it so I do it myself.”

I did text Bottled Lightning back:

pay attention

And turned my cell phone off.

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on April 21, 2010, in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on as close as your phone.

Comments are closed.

