a lack of imagination

This may sound like a dig, and I don’t mean it to be…

But how can you non-creative human beings bear to live?

As I drove to our Sekrit Writing Cave today, I thought about all those years I wasn’t writing.  Only I realize now–I was.

I wrote letters.  Corresponded on internet forums.  Took imaginative meeting notes and composed hilarious PTA announcements.

In addition, I quilted and cross-stitched, sewed adorable kid-clothes and costumes, Indian beaded on a loom and with the brick stitch and peyote stitch, stuffed sock monkeys, and gardened.  I cooked, cleaned, ran errands and changed diapers, volunteered and took care of three kids, a husband and an elderly mother.  But I always had some creative outlet, even if I could only spend 10 minutes a day on it.

If I didn’t, I was insane.

There are lots of people out there who don’t feel that way.  They go to work, come home and do something like watch sports.  Now, I like baseball.  I think it’s great if you coach your kid’s team.

But really?  Is that your only interest?  Nothing else?  Not art?  Music?  Literature?

Sock monkeys?

I confess, I wonder about people who don’t have anything to express.

Where are your souls?

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on March 30, 2010, in mind and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Ha! I think, sometimes, I should take up the sock monkey route …

    When I wasn’t “writing”, I was always imagining acceptance speeches for the Oscars.
    1. I don’t act.
    2. I don’t write screenplays.
    3. I don’t direct.
    4. I somehow win an Oscar and get to wear a cool dress and, yes, probably blood diamonds (yikes!).

    I think writing is a bit of a better use of my insane imagination.

  2. Hah! You got me with the blood diamonds. Oh, please, PLEASE–start doing set design or makeup, will you?

  3. I couldn’t agree more about creativity.

    And those are awesome sock monkeys!

    Judy H.

