the end, my friend

I finished my WIP!


Let me reconstruct that fateful day for you…

So I get to the coffee shop where I meet my Tuesday-Thursday  Peeps.  These are my Kansas SCBWI writing buddies: in the red jacket–our new RA, Kim Peek.  On the far left, talking contracts–our former RA, Sue Ford.  In the middle–Social Media Expert, Jenn Bailey.  Entering–assistant RA, Colleen Cook.  Here you will find…

A. I need to work on my camera skillz.

B. The many distractions that enabled  me to take as long as possible to write my first draft.

C. We are spiffy folks in Kansas, and you cannot resist our Conferences.

Okay, now we’re getting down to it. Earplugs in, and…ACTUAL WRITING HAPPENS.

Yeah, it was as painful as it looked.

And then…then…

CAN YOU BELIEVE IT???

Well, I did type “THE END”, whether I ran out of batteries to record it or not.

But wait!  It’s not really officially finished until I’ve run it past Wednesday Morning Critique Group of the Heartland Writers for Kids and Teens!  Today, with cookies:

This group is made of awesome.  Award-winning authors to rank beginners, we meet weekly in this group and others.  I can’t tell you how much I’ve learned.  And I hope I’m paying it forward.  Introductions are made in this clip, and we have everyone from Elizabeth C. Bunce, author of  A Curse Dark as Gold and winner of the first ALA William Morris Award, to Barbara Stuber, whose first novel, Crossing the Tracks will come out this July, to writers who have published articles and stories, poems and rebuses, to writers on the brink of being published and writers who have just started.

AND NOW, LADEEES AND GENTUULLMEEEEN, THE READING OF THE LAAAST CHAPTER!

(oh come on, you didn’t think you’d actually HEAR the chapter, did you?)

The giddy wrap-up:

Look, I know this is ridiculous and self-indulgent. But I want you guys to get to know the wonderful people writing for kids in the Kansas City area.

Also, I want to write this Flip thing off on my taxes. (oops. did I say that out loud?)

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on March 11, 2010, in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Two thumbs up for Lisha’s last chapter and the whole darned manuscript. You’ll love it, people! And two thumbs up for our Wednesday Critique Group and critique groups in general! :)

    Judy H.

  2. Congratulations, Lisha! Can’t wait to read it!!

  3. Thanks guys. You above all others know I couldn’t have done it alone. *snifferoo.*

  4. Finally had enough time to watch your vlog! :)

    I wish my video of you typing THE END had come out :(

    Hope to see you Thursday!

    xoxoxo (just to annoy you)

  5. You were so good to try. Wish I had the software to open it.

    Yeah, finish up that frickin’ 3-book-deal, wouldja?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,156 other followers

