flippin’ out at the “little piano girl” book launch

My delicious friend Ann Ingalls launched her book, Little Piano Girl last Saturday at our local indie children’s bookstore, The Reading Reptile.

Co-written with her sister, Maryann Macdonald, Little Piano Girl (Houghton Mifflin) tells the story of Mary Lou Williams, a jazz piano genius who arranged music for Dizzy Gillespie, Duke Ellington and Charlie Parker.

I shot a little video that has AMATEUR written all over it.  Next time I’ll know to narrate more.  It’s fairly self-explanatory, but besides meeting Ann and Maryann, keep an eye out for:

Barbara Stuber, whose debut middle-grade novel, Crossing the Tracks will hit the stores this July.

Colleen Ryckert Cook, whose first non-fiction book in a three-book deal for Rosen Publishing comes out in August.

Katie Speck, author of the Maybelle early chapter books.  You know, the roach? *shiver*  Maybelle will visit someplace tremendously fun in a third book to be released next January. (Ooo!  Kidlit scoop!)

Elizabeth C. Bunce, author of  A Curse Dark As Gold and the first recipient of the William C. Morris Award from the ALA.  Yes, indeedy do.  Don’t worry gang, she has another book turned in which is in production, and she’s writing a third.

Pete Cowden, owner with his wife Deb of THE most incredible children’s bookstore in the nation–The Reading Reptile.

And now, without further ado, my very first vlog:

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on February 16, 2010, in childrens' literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Nice! I really love your interviews with Ann and Maryann and scanning the Reptile as they read!

    Can’t wait to do our flash writing group video 😉

  2. PS. Your “three-book deal” caption cracked me up!

  3. Hey, three books is quite a deal.

  4. ThisisawesomeLisha!!! I’m so bummed that I missed this party. Thanks for posting this terrific vlog. It’s (almost) like being there!

  5. Oh, I know. I really captured the ambiance. Sundance festival can’t be far behind. (What’s the emoticon for rolling your eyes?)

  6. LOL! I liked the vlog. It’s something I haven’t even attempted yet, so you’ve got me beat there.

    P.S. I nominated your blog for a Creative Writer award. Check out my blog for the details!

    KT 🙂

  7. Well…how is it that I just now stumbled upon this. I knew you must have placed it somewhere. Gads, I love it. You are so kind to have done this. Hug, kiss, hug, kiss….

    Ann

