dashing to the finish

I am in the throes of the pulse-racing climax and thrilling conclusion of my WIP.  While I’ve enjoyed the hades out of writing this one, I can’t wait to finish the first draft. Why? Well, Scooby Doo, I thought you’d never ask:

TOP FIVE REASONS I WANT TO FINISH MY FIRST DRAFT:

1.  I can’t wait to see how everything turns out.

  • That’s right.  I do not outline.  I have only the vaguest idea of where my plot is going.  I will find out how my manuscript ends when I have ended it.  I dance on the head of a pin, bruddah!

2.   I’ve got a fever, and the only cure is more cowbell revision.

  • So many ideas for improving what I’ve already got, but I don’t want to start on them until I have the story worked out.  Framework before the molding.

3.    The line starts to the left.

  • Of my Id.  I’ve got several other projects I’m ready to put my figurative mitts on, but not until I’ve seen this one through to the bittersweet end.

4.    There’s more to life.

  • Than my writing.  I’ve discovered that I can’t read other writers’ fiction while I’m writing my own, at least in the first major stage of the process.  I get their voice in my head, and it becomes difficult switching back and forth.  Kate Barsotti told me that’s because I’m a “deep reader”.  Isn’t she nice?  I think it’s because I’m a “chuckle head”.

5.    Duh, or Me! Me! Publish Me!

  • Well, of course I want to be a prolific, published writer.  What’s that you say?  My telescopic ear is stretching over the intrawebs, and I hear some of you saying, “I don’t really care if I ever get published.”

Huh.

Well, I do.

I’ll blog about that next time.

And it won’t be any dang month, I can tell ya that.

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on December 3, 2009, in writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Kate Barsotti meant what she said, silly girl. And you will be published because you’re a good writer.

