owaic

I was lucky/smart/plugged in enough to attend the very first summer workshop of a new group in Missouri:  Ozark Writers And Illustrators for Children. I’ve never been around at the birth of a writers’ posse before.

It’s kind of exciting.

woohoo!

The day kicked off with a little Coffee Talk from Vicki Grove, where she drove home ten points about writing.  I think the most surprising point to me was:  Writing is Physics–it’s physical forces in opposition.   Geez, that’s brilliant, isn’t it?

Then Vicki opened her Writer’s Tool Box for all of us to play in. Seems Vicki is an organizer, which unfortunately, I am not.   But I might get into making sensory charts, to make sure I’ve got all the bases covered in my novels.

After a delicious lunch, three break out sessions were offered–about characters, writing non-fiction, and the one I chose: Authenic Details: How to Find Them, How to Use Them, with Janie Cheaney.  Lemmee tell ya, Janie knows how to get to the nitty-gritty.  She’s even handled turn-of-the-century cameras at the Smithsonian, to do research for her kidlit novels.  (Nifty!)

Then, we three dozen or so writerly types for kids came back together for first page critiques by award-winning authors, and wrapped up the day with a Q and A panel.  Sprinkle door prizes throughout the day, invite everyone to come dutch to dinner, and you’ve got yourself a wing-ding!

We are a lucky bunch in Missouri. MoSCBWI, and now OWAIC too.  With KSCBWI (my homies) and HWKT (my  homies too) right next door, Midwest kidlit writers have more opportunities than ever.

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on July 14, 2009, in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. HAHAHA dude. You are so much braver than I am. I can’t venture into the wild writing yonder without a plan. Maybe I’ll try it sometime…when I’m, I don’t know, drunk and not caring or something. haha

