write this way

For me, every Friday is Write With Your Friends Day.  Maybe not as productive as my solitary writing days, but oh, so much more fun.  And necessary to keep me from boarding the Grand Funk Railroad.

didsomebodysaygrandfunkrailroad

Our day starts in a college library, where we don’t have interweb access.

This is good.

And we have to pretty much be quiet.

Also good.

It’s kind of fun to toil away, look up occasionally at the other writers’ faces as they wrestle with their muses. Some eyes roll toward the ceiling.  Some out the window.

Do I look like that?  Like I’m passing a kidney stone?

We all have different typing styles.  The spurters.  The slow but steadies.  The bangers.  The light touchers.

Say.  That sounds kind of dirty.

Back to the YA.

In the afternoon we zip over to the coffeeshop where we nosh and work on things that don’t need so much, uh, concentration.    Like Twitter.

Yes, yes, yes, I’m back on the Twitter thing.  You may notice that I have crossed from Twitter consumer to Twitter provider.  I can’t help myself.  It diddles my highschool note-passing receptor.

So another Friday is tucked neatly under my writing belt, and while my output may have suffered a bit today, I am primed for maximum production the other six days of the week.

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on February 21, 2009, in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Anytime someone announces they want to write a book, (or usually, it would be “really fun” to be a writer, if they “had the time” etc.) I just ask them about their influences. You know, the books they read, or better yet the books they BUY. I don’t know where people get the idea they can write when they don’t read. I really don’t know how they think they’ll make any money when they don’t buy books. EVER. And don’t know anyone else who does, either.
    Just remember, in the screenplay market, it’s even worse. 😉

