for writers…the end of the hero’s journey

Well, Little Shane from Maine, it’s time to Return Home. You still have a few motifs to demonstrate.

Shane wanders around and around and around the traffic round-about…

collosal traffic

until he moseys into a warehouse, where the Unfettered Routing of Provolone Society  (URPS)

reachforthesky

has convened for their bi-annual semi-pro invitational confab.

“Oh, the unbelievable coincidence, that I should end up here!”  Shane intones.  He climbs upon a pedestal and begins his tale.

“I come from a distant land, where the need for provolone is critical.  I searched the stores all up and down Main Street, but no provolone.  I offered my sandwich customers swiss.  I offered them cheddar.  But nothing I did could ease the suffering of the provoloneless.  So I boarded a plane…”  Blah, blah, blah.

bloobideeblahblah

We’ll let Shane drone on as he milks Motif #14…the hero explains himself. Man.  Only one motif left and we can blow this guy onward to the Common Day, where he’ll bring back the cheese.

“…at the Spanish Steps, where I sat, and sat, and sat…”

Glorioski.  What a bore.  I just want to get him on a plane, speed him back to Maine, put his cheese in a sandwich and say toodle-loo to this cheesy Hero’s Journey.

“…a man-sized rat!  With a green eye-shade!  So then I…”

yawner

A bold young lass jumps up and says,  “If we throw you a banquet will you stop talking?”

“A banquet?”  Shane stops to take a breath, URPS takes that as a “yes”, and the party is on.  Finally. Motif #15, the Hero goes to a celebration.

Then URPS loads him down with provolone.  Shane hops a plane back to Maine, crosses the threshold back into his Common Day where he distributes hero sandwiches replete with the precious provolone he so perfectly procured.

And they lived happily ever after.

sammich

Egads, we’re done.  No, I can’t believe it either.

rickeeeeeeee


In parting, dear reader, let me remind you that motifs can be used in any order, or not at all, if the story doesn’t call for it.

And heroes come in all shapes.


About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on December 29, 2008, in hero's journey, myth, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on for writers…the end of the hero’s journey.

Comments are closed.

