listen to your characters

Yes, I am still on my second draft.

No, I’m not stuck. I’m churning out pages like a house a-fire.

My plot has evolved and a lot of my revising has turned into rewriting. In fact today a COOL HUGE TYING-TOGETHER-TWIST has come to me.

How did this miracle happen?

I spent time with my characters.

Character and plot are inseparable–after all, who drives the plot? Your characters BETTER drive the plot. If they don’t, if they are simply victims of an outside force, it’s not a book, it’s a puppet show.

Plot is not a series of occurrences, it’s a story that happens to a particular group of characters because of who they are, where they’ve come from and the choices they make.

Let your characters guide you. They know the way.

 

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on July 26, 2012, in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great, helpful post – and good reminder. Thanks, Lisha!

  2. What are YOU doing up at this hour?????

  3. I’ll sleep when YOU do.

  4. I can not outwit or outplay, BUT I CAN OUTLAST.

  5. As Cindi said, great post/good reminder. Thanks!

  6. I love you Judy. I…I just don’t say it enough.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,189 other followers

