forget sprockets: keep revising

Are we all revising like bunnies?

Yeah, I have no clue what that simile means, either. But aren’t they cute?

To recap:

  • First, I printed out all my chapters.

That concludes my recap.

Now, OUTLINES.

Yes, yes, I know I am a sworn pantser. But there comes a time in everyone’s life when only an outline will do. My time is AFTER the first draft.

Bob is in pretty good shape, but there are threads in the beginning of the manuscript I’d forgotten about by the time I got to the end. Miraculously, many of them tie in nicely with later plot points.

I think that’s because I let my subconscious play.

Some ideas didn’t turn out well and were abandoned. When I’m first-drafting I don’t go back and rewrite unless I’m really stuck.  I try to keep moving forward in the story, as I tend to ruminate on perfect turns of  phrase. Which is ridiculous at a stage when I’m writing whole chunks of manuscript that might be thrown out.

After I write the outline of my first draft AS IS, I can go through and make the choices of threads to keep, threads to drop, threads to connect.

I make sure the plot is logical.

That the subplots ENHANCE the main plot.

Then I write  another outline AS IT WILL BE. This is what I’ll work off of for my second draft.

But. There’s one other thing I have to settle on before I start the second draft….

WHICH I’LL TALK ABOUT NEXT WEEK.

So.

Hang on.

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on April 13, 2012, in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. If by “editing” you mean “occasionally thinking about the editing I should be doing,” I have got that covered!

    I’d much rather look at the animated images in your post. That’ll get my story edited, right?

  2. Love Woody! Hate the suspense! OK, next week then.

  3. Deborah, the gifs will…uh…INSPIRE you to edit. Yeah, that’s the ticket.

    And Dana, Suspense is my middle name. Thinking about doing it legally–talk about a marketing ploy!

  1. Pingback: S is for Self-Awareness « shanjeniah

  2. Pingback: draft two « The Imaginal Realm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,205 other followers

