thesaurus surfing

I wrote today.

Well, I write just about every day. Doesn’t everybody? Show of hands.

I’ve got a lot of irons in the fire right now: blogs, articles, flash fiction, and of course, my YA novel WIP.

This time around, I’ve been trying to mostly disgorge my YA novel in a fell swoop. You know. Get that puppy down in a first draft and and then go from there, rather than the method of polishing as you go.

That’s a lot harder for me. I’m mostly doing it, and I think it’s paying off in a more complicated plot. But I’m still a panster. If you force me to outline everything beforehand, I am going to be very, very bored when I actually write the thing. And that, my little ones, will show up in the final product, won’t it?

But my last two chapters were SUCH a jumbled mess I gave in and rewrote today, and allowed myself the luxury of polishing.

What a relief!

Even though I write for guys, or maybe ESPECIALLY because I write for guys, I pick every frickin’ word I use carefully. I am a spare writer, kids. Look here.

And I got to wondering today if anyone else Thesaurus Surfs.

It goes like this:

I want to replace GUT WRENCHING.

So I look up “wrench”. Some of the words:

contort, bend, screw, twist

Lets look at “twist”:

corkscrew, warp, twirl, spin

Not quite what I’m looking for. Trying “spin”:

pivot, gyrate, whirlwind, torque.

EUREKA!

“…my guts torque.”

That’s a teen guy talking, if you ask me.

About Lisha Cauthen

Lisha Cauthen writes YA novels for guys that girls like to read too.

Posted on January 27, 2012, in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. My guts torque…that’s a good one! lol

  2. yup. Big thesaurus user. I google stuff too. What’s the best online thesaurus, in your opinion?

  3. Dana,
    I use http://thesaurus.com/ They often have little things about where words came from and “learn the difference” blurbs on the welcome page that are pretty interesting. Also, a dictionary, translator and quotes.

    No they aren’t paying me. Darn it.

  4. Yep, thesaurus surfer here too. :)

  5. Judy, Great Minds.

    Great. Minds.

  6. I’m so glad to meet another Thesaurus devotee!

  7. It’s the Smorgasbord for writers, whitecateditor. Thanks for stopping by!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,189 other followers

